# The 22<sup>th</sup> Annual Conference of EUSA-Japan (Nagasaki Junshin University, Nagasaki, 17-18 November 2001)

## Programme

# "The Treaty of Nice and the Future of Europe"

The 1st Day (Session in Japanese)

1. Group Sessions (13:00-15:00)

Group A Chairperson: Prof. Yasuyuki KOKUBO, University of Shizuoka

(1) Prof. Yuko NAKANISHI, Senshu University

"The Treaty of Nice and Enhanced Cooperation under the TEU and the TEC"

Group B Chairperson: Prof. Asatsugu TATSUMI, Hannan University

(1) Prof. Kazuto SUZUKI, Tsukuba University

"European Strategy for Space and Galileo Project"

(2) Prof. Mitsuo MIYAMOTO, Seikei University

"The Fischer Debate and Possible Futures for the Nation States within the European Union"

(3) Mr. Taketo FUKUDA, Graduate student at Kyushu University

"Scottish National Movement and European Integration: The SNP's Experience"

Group C Chairperson: Prof. Soiti ENKYO, Japan University

(1) Prof. Hitoshi SUZUKI, Yamagata University

"EU and Information Technology"

(2) Prof. Kenichi ANDO, Shizuoka University

"EU Integration in the Comparative Advantage Sector and its External Implication: with the example og the integration in the pharmaceutical industry"

(3) Prof. Hisashi WATANABE, Tokyo Keizai University

"Euregios and Border Area Policy of EU"

2. Plenary Session(15:10-17:10)

Chairpersons: Prof. Toshiro TANAKA, Keio University and Prof. Koji HUKUDA, Waseda University

(1) Prof. Yoshikatsu WASHIE, Doshisha University

"Reform of the Institutions and Decision-making by the Nice Treaty"

(2) Prof. Malcom ANDERSON, Former President of the ECSA-World "Nationalism and European Integration" (provisional) (in English)

#### Dinner (19:00-21:00)

The 2<sup>nd</sup> Day (Session in Japanese)

1. Morning Session (10:00-12:00)

Chairperson: Prof. Takao SUAMI, Waseda University

(1) Prof. Tamio NAKAMURA, Tokyo University

"The Development of EU Constitutional Order: Nice Treaty in context"

(2) Prof. Satoshi IRIINAHUKU, Heisei University

"The Reform of the Judicial System of the EU"

Lunch Time (12:00-13:00)

2. Afternoon Session (13:15-15:15)

Chairpersons: Prof. Hiroshi OKUMA, Seijo University and Prof. Ko SHIMADA,
Doshisha University

(1) Mr. Nao YAMAMOTO, Graduate Student at Doshisha University "The External Relations of EU and the Democratic Principles: Process of Conditionality"

(2) Prof. Keiichi MAEDA, Osaka University of Commerce

"On the Transformation of EU Development Policy: from the Lomé Conventions to the Cotonou Agreement"

### **INFORMATION**

Prof. Katsuhiro SHOJI

Secretary-General

The European Union Studies Association-JAPAN (EUSA-JAPAN)

Department of International and Business Law International Graduate School of Social Sciences Yokohama National University Tokiwadai 79-4, Hodogaya-ku, Yokohama 240-8501 JAPAN

Tel & Fax: +81-45-339-3641

E-mail: eushoji@mb.infoweb.ne.jp